Official Press Release: Vinay Kaushal – Reality Check


Fender artist and Musician’s Institute alumnus Vinay Kaushal returns with a new single ‘Reality Check’ after a hiatus of nearly two years. The song is due to release on the 1 st of November 2020. The song features Siddharth Basrur – the well-known Indian vocalist, Among Jamir – former bass player for rockers Agnee, and the multi-award winning, Toronto-based drummer Agneya Chikte.

The tune sees Vinay Kaushal, popularly known for his instrumental jazz compositions, returning to his rock roots drawing from influences like Widespread Panic, Pearl Jam, Incubus, and Radiohead, among others. Siddharth Basrur, with his grungy voice and spirited harmonies, is a natural fit for the vocals. The song was mixed by Vinay’s go-to sound engineer and long-time buddy Aseem.

Conceptualized and recorded remotely during the peak lockdown, this rock tune features multiple acoustic and electric guitar layers with a soulful, bluesy, slide guitar interlude that takes listeners by surprise. The catchy chorus lines describe a wild relationship gone wrong and the provocative outro makes a fitting end. The result – a sing-along rock song that would grace any playlist meant for a road-trip or a chill night in with friends.

Vinay’s first album ‘Naked on a Train’ has received accolades from the likes of Keith Wyatt, All About Jazz, and the Score Magazine. “It’ll be great to see what they have to say about this tune”, laughs Kaushal, “it’s so different from anything I have written before.”

For more information, promo requests, or to arrange an interview, contact Vinay on / +918408944890

Social Media Links:

Instagram :


Facebook :


Twitter :


  • Instagram
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Spotify Clean
  • Apple Music Clean
  • SoundCloud Clean